Drunk Driving Can Cost You $$$. Here’s How!
Twenty-nine people die each day from a car accident related to drunk driving according to the CDC? (Center for Disease Control).
Also, according to the NHTSA (National Highway Transportation Safety Administration), 800 people are injured in a car accident involving an intoxicated motorist per day.
If that doesn’t scare you off from driving drunk, then consider the financial consequences that come with it. The cost of a DUI in the United States can be anywhere from $5,000 to $20,000 on average.
Keep reading to get a detailed list of what the total cost of a DUI in Florida can be.
Bail can cost anywhere from $100 to $2,500 depending on the seriousness and circumstances of your DUI arrest. If you’re arrested for DUI, expect to spend at the least the night in jail until you’ve sobered up.
The Cost of a DUI Attorney
Assuming you don’t have a family member or friend that’s a lawyer you can expect to pay a minimum of $1,000 to $4,000 for an attorney to represent you in a Drunk Driving case in Florida.
There are several factors that will determine the cost of your lawyer in a DUI case:
- Is it your first offense?
- Are you pleading guilty or going to trial?
- Was your BAC (Blood Alchohol Content) over .15?
- Did you hit or injure someone?
The fines you can expect to pay will range from $150 to $1,800 for a first offense. Keep in mind that the range goes up for each additional offense.
In addition to those fines, you can expect to pay for time in jail which is $10 to $300. Plus, sentencing fees are about $100-$250. Also, you’ll need to pay for your probation costs which are anywhere from $200 to $1,200.
Screenings and Community Service
If you’re ordered to have random drug or alcohol screenings you’ll have to pay a minimum of $100 for those. Plus, any community service you have to do will cost you around $100 as well.
FR44 Insurance is required by the state of Florida after being convicted of DUI. This type of insurance can cause your rates to skyrocket to 200-300 percent more than your regular insurance rates.
In the past, you were required to have an SR22 which had lower liability limits. That’s why the FR44 costs so much more.
You’ll be rated or considered a “high risk” driver the moment you ask for an FR44. You have to keep the FR44 for three years too.
Ignition Interlock Device
Some courts will require you to install an IID (Ignition Interlock Device) in your car.
An IID requires you to breathe into a machine and register 0% BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) to start your car. You’ll also have to randomly blow into the machine while you’re driving.
The cost of an IID is about $150 for the initial installation and around $100 each month as a maintenance fee. You typically have to keep the device in your car for six months to a year.
Total Cost of a DUI in Florida
After it’s all said and done, the total cost of a DUI in Florida can be anywhere from $5,000 to $25,000.
If that doesn’t scare you off just remember how many people are injured or killed every day in an automobile accident involving a drunk driver.
Check out our Business/Finance blog for more money advice.