Diamonds come from different people and companies, making them different and unique. There are different shapes, sizes, and colors of diamonds.

There are several criteria for making diamonds, which gives them different characteristics. Professionals who make diamonds perform specific methods that determine the value of diamonds.

It can be stressful and challenging when buying diamonds for the first time, which should not be the case. To choose the best quality diamond, you have to follow the four criteria we will discuss below.(color,carat weight,clarity,cut).

Gemological Institute of America came up with the 4C’s to help in the easier categorization of the diamond.


Photo by Sabrianna on Unsplash

Criteria Used in Evaluating the quality of Diamonds.

This article will look at the criteria used to determine diamonds' quality. It will help you find the right diamond and where to get it.

We shall look at carat weight, the type of cut, clarity, and color.

All these criteria affect the quality of diamonds, and it's better to have a deeper understanding of what they are.

1. The type of cut

Refers to how well the diamond gets polished around its symmetry to transmit light and reflection from the facets. It makes the diamond beautiful and produces a sparkling effect.

Cutting requires great skills to produce better polish that results in greater results. Poor cut leads to ugly and dullness of diamonds.

Many people confuse the diamond cut with the shape, two different things.

To analyze the best cut, we use the  GIA scale to know how proportions of the facet of the diamond influence the appearance: excellent, very good, good, fair, and poor.

There are other types of cuts: deep and shallow. The deep cut receives less light, leaving through the bottom, while the shallow receives light at the lowest angles and leaves through the sides.

Other factors that affect cut include

  • Fire-the white light from the facets scattering into rainbow colors.
  • Brightness, both internal and external
  • Scintillation-sparkles produced when the light gets reflected from the diamond after hitting the facets.
  • The symmetry and proportion of the diamond.

When the grade of the diamond cut is higher, this increases the quality and price of a diamond. 

For example, when the grade is excellent or very good, it shows a maximum reflection that produces more sparkle making the diamond bright. It increases the quality of the diamond, making it the best.

2. Color

Diamond has a lot of colors. Diamonds have a lot of colors, and they play a significant role in determining the quality of the diamond. It is tough to find a colorless diamond.

Diamond specialists have developed a grading system D-Z as below:


Color grade Meaning
D, E, F. It's colorless, rare to find, and highest quality.
G, H, I, J They are nearly colorless and can be of great quality
K, L, M, N Are affordable and have faint colors.
O, P, Q, R, S, T, U Very light colors
V, W, X, Y, Z Have light colors


When you put diamonds on an Ultraviolet, they emit fluorescent, which is mostly blue. It is not visible with our naked eyes by the use of magnification. Sometimes the yellow color gets emitted, but they mask each other.

Color is crucial as it affects the price of diamonds. The higher the grading level of the color, the higher the quality of a diamond.

3. Carat Weight

This helps us in knowing how the diamond weighs. The unit for measuring the weight is carat(ct). One carat is  200 milligrams.

Most weight consists of two decimal places, so we divide carat by 100 to find the point.

For example, if a diamond weighs 0.76, pronounced as seventy-six pointer.

In some scenarios, the weight of the diamond surpasses one, e.g., 1.04, which we pronounce as ‘one point oh four carats.

It is scarce to find large diamonds, they are costly. The larger the carat, the higher the quality of the diamond.

Some diamond dealers temper with cut so that they can get the largest carat, that is why Keyzar Jewelry is your one-stop of all the diamond jewelry where quality and professionalism matter.

4. The Clarity

Diamonds have flaws, inclusions, and blemishes that are not visible with naked eyes. These inclusions give diamonds character and affect the shape of diamonds, depending on their location.

Each diamond has its inclusion, which makes each unique.

 Clarity also affects the price, shape, and color of diamonds.

To know the level of clarity, they magnify the inclusions and come up with measurements in terms of grades.

The clarity grading system is as shown in the table below:

Grading Level What it means
Flawless It has no inclusions, and they are rare to find.
Internally flawless Inclusions are small, and some blemishes are visible.
Very Very Slightly Included 1, Very Very Slightly Included 2 Difficult to see them and rare to find.
Very Slightly Included, Very Slightly Included 2 They have great value and easy to see them 
Slightly Included 1, Slightly Included 2 Visible with naked eyes and their inclusions are visible
Included 1, Included 2, Included 3 Higher visibility and play a big role in enhancing beauty.

Professionals came up with a scale To measure the level of clarity: imperfect, slightly imperfect, very slightly imperfect, very very slightly perfect.

The size, color, position of inclusions reflection, and the nature of inclusions affect clarity.

Diamonds with inclusions need magnification to be visible, e.g., flawless and internally flawless. Those whose scale is slightly imperfect and very imperfect produce quality diamonds.

Best Quality Diamond Covers all the 4Cs(Cut, Clarity, Color, Carat Weight).

The 4Cs have a significant role in determining the quality of the diamond. When looking for a quality diamond, you will have to understand all the criteria to choose the best quality.

Best quality diamond should have high grading color, better cut, highest carat weight, and good clarity.

It is good to purchase a quality diamond, making it durable and valuable for your money. It takes some time to know the good quality of the diamond.

Most diamond dealers allow you to sort diamonds by the 4Cs when purchasing. It helps you spend less time finding quality diamonds.

Sharing is caring!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.